Because Of You 2024 Volunteer Appreciation Event

 It takes a village to build community, and we are so very grateful for your volunteer support this year—for building with us, sharing your ideas and kindness, and being the backbone of the work that we do.

Volunteers have always been integral to our mission – the first ten years Habitat operated in Monroe County was solely by the support of volunteers. Since then, we’ve grown to the nearly 20-person staff we have today, but we still can’t do what we do without your passion, endless support, and willingness to go the extra mile.

Our Because of You event was held on Tuesday, April 23 during National Volunteer Week. Just last year, 1110 individuals gave 18,525 hours of their time to support affordable homeownership in our community. With the value of a volunteer hour estimated as $28.84, your volunteerism saved our organization over $534,000 just last year. Your dedication inspires us.

With the support of volunteers like you, we can continue to build homes and create affordable homeownership opportunities in our community. Find out more at

Thank you to the FAR Center for being our gracious hosts the evening and to Callie & Company for our balloon display, Aver’s Pizza North, Baked! Of Bloomington, BuffaLouie’s, Chocolate Moose, Chop Shop, Crumble Coffee and Bakery, Ditto Ice, Fresh Thyme West, Jiffy Treat Ellettsville, Lennie’s, Mother Bears Pizza, and Popkorn Kernels with a Twist.

Congratulations to our wonderful volunteers on their achievements!


President’s Volunteer Service Award Recipients (based on calendar year 2024)

Bronze (100-249 hours): Glenn Anderson, Rebecca Ball, Steve Creech, John Duell, Jim Faris, David Joyce, Miguel Melendez-Rodriguez, Arlen Packard, Brenda Pendexter, Aldona Reid, Bet Savich, Thom Simmons, and Don Westerhaus. We want to give a very special shoutout to Glenn and Don who recently celebrated their 10-year volunteer anniversaries with the Habitat ReStore.

Silver (250-499 hours):John Bassett, Peter Bolt, John Davenport, Ann Eskew, Steve Layman, Mariluz Perez, Ned Powell, Jim Powers, Susan Smart Don Wertz, and Ted Winninger.

Gold (500+ hours):Mark Burket, John Partridge, and Darrell Gilmore.

Collectively, these 27 individuals volunteered over 8,100 hours, or 45%, of all volunteer hours given in the last year.

Special Recognition

ReMarkable ReStore ReSource // Ron Smith

Corporate Connector // Bruce Miller

Golden Touch // Steve Creech

Rookie Construction Volunteer // Art Woodruff

Social Impact Champion // Shawna Meyer-Niederman

Love In Action // Jen Hurtubise & Kate Tavernier

Miscut Board // John Bassett

EmpowerHER // Women+ Build Committee

Award Recipients

YES Award (Your Excellent Service) // Aldona Reid
Clarence Jordan Equity Builder Award // Sergio Lema & Mariluz Perez
Homeowner’s Choice Award // Don Wertz
Leaving a Legacy // Emma Schreier & Fiona Goldman
Bil Haynes Lifetime of Service // John Duell
Partner in Hope // Mike Corns, Tommy D’s
Construction Volunteer of the Year //  Mark Burket
ReStore Volunteer of the Year // Darrell Gilmore
Volunteer of the Year // Karan Rastall